Happy New Year 2024

Congratulations to the 24-26 Board members:

President & Primary Delegate: John Van Voris

Vice President & Business Agent: Carmen Lookshire

Secretary/Treasurer: Anna Lammly

Recording Secretary/Assistant to the President: Diane Geddes

At large Board Members:

Elias Assimakopoulos

Alex Atchley

Joe Finn

Bronte Roman

Tony Schettino

The slate of officers will be sworn in at our General Membership Meeting on January 22nd, 7:00 at the Zaloga Post

The slate of officers will be sworn in at our General Membership Meeting on January 22nd, 7:00 at the Zaloga Post

April is Jazz Appreciation Month!

Jazz appreciation month logo


Jazz Appreciation Month 

In recent years the museum’s jazz program stepped up its efforts in recognizing contributions of women in jazz, from the genre’s earliest development to present successes and challenges. Our work is far from being done and will continue to be an integral part of our ongoing effort as we delve into the rich historical legacy of America’s indigenous art form.

In 2021, Jazz Appreciation Month recognized and explored the historical legacy of pianist, singer, songwriter, storyteller, and civil rights activist Nina Simone. Historic content was added to our website and marked visually by an illustration of Nina Simone on this poster by Duke Ellington School of the Arts sophomore visual arts student Naa Anyele Sowah-de Jesus.

2021 Featured Artist: Nina Simone

 Nina Simone - Symphony Hall, Boston, Mass. - 1969
Nina Simone – Symphony Hall, Boston, Mass. – 1969
Collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, Gift of Robert and Greta Houston


Woman playing saxophone

Ways to Celebrate JAM

Hold your own JAM event with this handy list of ways to celebrate jazz.


White background with black text that says "JAM"Resources

Everything else you might need for your own JAM events – including the JAM logo, and radio announcements.


Visit Smithsonian Jazz Website



Tommy Ippolito Music Scholarship 2021

To our Music Community:

The Albany Musicians’ Association, Inc. announces the availability of the prestigious Tommy Ippolito Music Scholarship which is awarded to one or two talented instrumentalists and/or vocalists who are pursuing a college education in music (major or minor). THE APPLICATION DEADLINE IS APRIL 31, 2021. An application form is enclosed within. We seek your assistance and that of your music directors in identifying exceptional students who are planning a career in music.


Scholarship Form 2021

This Scholarship is named in recognition of Thomas (Tommy) Ippolito, as a tribute to his exceptionally gifted and accomplished musicianship, leadership, and service to Local 14 to promote live music in the Capital Region.

The Tommy Ippolito Scholarship is a merit-based, one-time cash award of $500 (minimum) or $1,000 (maximum) given directly to the recipient(s). Applicants must be high school seniors who have been accepted into an accredited college/university, and who demonstrate (1) satisfactory academic work; (2) outstanding achievement in the areas of musicianship, leadership, and overall dedication to music; and (3) the potential for success in the field of music exhibited by performance achievements on their primary instrument, including voice.

If there are any questions, please contact me at (518) 669-2163. Thank you.


John Van Voris,
President, Albany Musicians’ Association
Local 14 – American Federation of Musicians
2nd VP, Eastern Conference of Locals

Congratulations to Albany Symphony on Grammy for Best Classical Instrumental Solo

63rd GRAMMY Awards


David Alan Miller and the Albany Symphony for Best Classical Instrumental Solo .

The win was for violist Richard O’Neill’s solo in Christopher Theofanidis’ “Concerto for Viola and Chamber Orchestra”recording made under the baton of Miller and backed by the Albany Symphony. The recording on the Albany Records label features violin soloist Chee-Yun and viola soloist O’Neill.

Congratulations to David Allen Miller, Richard O’Neill and our Local 14 members of Albany Symphony Orchestra!

This is the sixth nomination for Miller, the fifth for the ASO. In 2019, the recorded performance of composer Michael Torke’s “Sky” received a best classical instrumental solo nomination for violinist Tessa Lark, and a recording of Derek Bermel’s “Migration Series” was nominated for best contemporary classical composition.


Membership Mtg Oct 21, 7 PM

Our next membership meeting will be held on Wednesday, October 21 at 7:00. The meeting will held online through or, on the telephone if you don’t have a camera or microphone on your computer.

You can also dial in using your phone.
United States: +1 (872) 240-3212

Access Code: 561-602-045

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts:

Transition: Neil C. Brown, Jr. President Emeritus

Dear fellow Local 14 members,

It is with great sadness that I write to inform you that Local 14 President Emeritus Neil Brown passed away on Friday, August 7.

Neil was a longtime pianist-member, Secretary/Treasurer, President of Local 14, and when I became President, he graciously volunteered to come back from retirement as Secretary/Treasurer.

On a personal level, I became friends with Neil through playing gigs, but he became a mentor to me when I became vice-president and then president. Besides showing me the ropes in dealing with the AFM, he taught me the importance of leading through consensus, and bringing people with varied backgrounds and opinions to be on the same page.

He will be missed by many. Neil’s obituary can be seen here:

In solidarity,

John Van Voris
President of our Albany Musicians’ Association   

Tommy Ippolito Scholarship Awards 2020

Congratulations to the 2020 Tommy Ippolito Scholarship Awardees!

Sam Hatfield from Burnt Hills/ Ballston Lake High School, a drummer who will be studying Commercial Music/Jazz Studies/Jazz Performance at Belmont University.

Catherine Jantson from Bethlehem High School, a vocalist who will be studying Music Education at Ithaca College.

William Han from Shenendehowa High School, a cellist who will be studying Cello Performance at SMU.